Fields of application

mobiolab™ Specifications

April 15, 2020

Mobile Molecular Biology Laboratory

Safe sampling, (pre-)analytics and state-of-the-art qPCR technology, combined in a modular system: Molecular biological analyses of e.g. SARS-CoV2 viral load or antibody detection in the shortest possible time with highly standardized workflow.

The mobiolab™ is the result of intensive cooperation between experts in the construction of container-based facilities and the operation of molecular biology laboratories. The mobiolab™ represents a fully functional laboratory operating in accordance with BioStoffV safety level 2.

Developed in Germany - ready for use worldwide.

Thanks to its ISO-certified design, mobiolab™ is flexible and standardised for worldwide transport. The optional photovoltaic module enables autonomous "off-grid" operation without power supply and secures the cold chain during transport.

Biomonitoring:
Detect contamination in real time

The regular inspection of surfaces at workplaces, medical devices or other objects for contamination with SARS-CoV-2 virus load allows early detection of infections or contamination. Our highly sensitive PCR analysis thus protects customers and employees and ensures production downtimesThe mobiolab™ can deliver results from environmental monitoring / biomonitoring in < 45 minutes

A fully functional laboratory even in remote areas without infrastructure

Based on the international sea container standard, the transport can be carried out cost-efficiently by road, rail or ship, for example, after securing the transport. For international sea transport, however, special parking spaces must be booked on the ships due to the special equipment (windows, doors). Loading can be carried out with a standard crane, self-loading truck or forklift truck. Thus, an mobiolab™ can easily be transported to areas where there is no test and laboratory infrastructure, e.g. in African countries.

mobiolab ready for operation using solar collectors & lead batteries

In the context of diagnostic analyses, e.g. detection of SARS-CoV-2 pathogens in human sample material, the correct classification of the pathogens in connection with the material (e.g. capable of reproduction) and the activities is decisive for the assignment of a protection level. In the case of molecular biological (!) SARS-CoV-2 analyses, for example, the WHO considers protection level 2 to be appropriate. The mobiolab is equipped with the necessary requirements according to TRBA-100, TRBA-250, BioStoffV. In particular, a certified, tested biological safety cabinet is integrated that is approved as ready for operation after installation. This serves primarily for personal protection. Under the safety cabinet, potentially infectious samples can be opened and processed under observance of hygienic techniques and disposed of.

In particular, mobiolab provides state-of-the-art real-time PCR measurements on site. This procedure, which can also identify symptom-free carriers or even detect samples from environmental analyses / swabs of materials etc., is the most sensitive and "best" test procedure, although it has been reserved for a few stationary laboratories to date. Furthermore, tests of antibody titers can also be carried out, as the infrastructure required for sample handling is available.

After preparation of the sample, which can take between 5 minutes and approx. one hour depending on the method, a one-step quantitative RT-PCR reaction is performed, which takes between just under half an hour and a maximum of one hour, depending on the chemistry used. Clearly positive results, however, can often be identified after 15 minutes (depending on the viral load).

No loss of time due to transport of samples

Due to its mobility, the sample can be sent to the analytics immediately after collection. This advantage is of central importance with regard to the virus' genome, which tends to be unstable - and, at the investigator's discretion, also allows the use of even faster RNA extraction procedures, since long transport routes and pre-analytical waiting times can be dispensed with.

Considerable cost savings compared to conventional laboratories

Molecular biological analysis must - and should - not be expensive in times of crisis! If, for example, a protocol recommended by us, by the WHO, the US American CDC or even the protocol originally developed at the Charité is used, the material costs for a screening examination can be reduced to well below 5 Euros per test. With a sample volume of only 500 samples per day, a potential saving of 500 * 95 EUR = 47,500 EUR per day can be achieved.

Safe sampling

The mobiolab has a "sample drawer", a drawer like those used at bank counters or night counters at gas stations. This is used for the safe, aerosol-protected exchange of samples. The assignment of sample to dispenser is done by mobiolab's own lab management system, which uses a QR code to be scanned at the counter to request optional anamnestic data and digitally merges the sample containers (optionally tagged with a QR code) with the dispenser. Samples that have been dispensed are displayed internally in the workflow of the Mobio-Lab for pre-analysis and PCR analysis and are available digitally for correct loading of the devices.

More than 7000 samples/day per mobiolab possible

The fluorescence-based qRT-PCR allows the quantification of the amount of RNA and is considered the gold standard among test methods. After a short sample preparation, the result is available within one hour. This means that a single mobiolab laboratory unit has the capacity to analyze between approximately 1,500 and 7,000 samples per day, depending on the configuration and test procedure.

Einsatzgebiete

mobiolab™ Spezifikationen

April 14, 2020

Mobile Molecular Biology Laboratory

Sichere Probenentnahme, (Prä-)Analytik und modernste qPCR-Technologie, vereint in einem modularen System:  Molekularbiologische Analysen von z.B. SARS-CoV2 Viruslast oder Antikörpernachweise in kürzester Zeit bei hochstandardisiertem Workflow.

Das mobiolab™ ist das Resultat intensiver Zusammenarbeit von Experten im Bau containerbasierter Einrichtungen und im Betrieb molekularbiologischer Labore. Das mobiolab™ stellt ein voll funktionsfähiges, nach BioStoffV Sicherheitsstufe 2 operierendes Labor dar.

In Deutschland entwickelt- weltweit einsatzbereit.

Dank des ISO-zertifizierten Designs ist das mobiolab™ weltweit flexibel und standardisiert transportabel. Das optionale Photovoltaik-Modul ermöglicht autonomen "off-grid" Betrieb ohne Stromanschluss und sichert die Kühlkette während eines Transportes.

Biomonitoring:
Kontaminationen in Echtzeit erfassen

Die regelmäßige Überprüfung von Oberflächen an Arbeitsplätzen, Medizinprodukten oder anderen Gegenständen auf Kontaminationen mit SARS-CoV-2 Viruslast lässt Infektionen oder Kontaminationen frühzeitig erkennen. Unsere hochsensitive PCR-Analytik schützt damit Kunden, Arbeitnehmer und sichert Produktionsausfälle
Das mobiolab™ kann Ergebnisse aus dem Umweltmonitoring / Biomonitoring in < 45 Minuten liefern

Auch in abgelegenen Gebieten ohne Infrastruktur ein voll funktionstüchtiges Labor

Angelehnt an den internationalen Seecontainer-Standard kann der Transport, nach Anbringen von Transportsicherungen, zum Beispiel kosteneffizient auf der Straße, der Schiene oder auch auf dem Schiff transportiert werden. Für internationale Seetransporte sind aufgrund der spezielle Ausstattung (Fenster, Türen) jedoch spezielle Stellplätze auf den Schiffen zu buchen. Die Verladung kann mit Standard-Kran, Selbstlade-LKW oder auch per Gabelstapler erfolgen. Somit kann ein mobiolab™ problemlos auch in Gegenden gebracht werden, in welchen es bislang keinerlei Test- & Laborinfrastruktur gibt, bsp. in Ländern Afrikas.

mobiolab betriebsbereit mittels Solarkollektoren & Blei-Akkus

Im Rahmen diagnostischer Analysen, z.B. Nachweis von SARS-CoV-2 Erregern in humanem Probenmaterial ist die korrekte Einordnung der Erreger in Verbindung des Materials (z.B. vermehrungsfähig) und der Tätigkeiten maßgeblich für die Zuordnung einer Schutzstufe. Im Falle von molekularbiologischen (!) SARS-CoV-2 Analysen ist bspw. nach Einschätzung der WHO die Schutzstufe 2 zutreffend. Das mobiolab ist entsprechend mit den erforderlichen Voraussetzungen gem. TRBA-100, TRBA-250, BioStoffV ausgestattet. Insbesondere ist eine zertifizierte und nach Installation als betriebsbereit abgenommene, geprüfte biologische Sicherheitswerkbank integriert. Diese dient in erster Linie dem Personenschutz. Unter der Sicherheitswerkbank können potenziell infektiöse Proben unter Beachtung hygienischer Techniken geöffnet und weiterverarbeitet sowie der Entsorgung zugeführt werden.

Das mobiolab stellt insbesondere state-of-the-art realtime PCR-Messungen vor Ort zur Verfügung. Damit stellt dieses Verfahren, welches auch symptomfreie Träger identifizieren oder gar Samples aus Umweltanalysen / Abstrichen von Materialien etc. nachweisen kann, das sensitivste und "beste", wenngleich bislang wenigen, stationären Laboren vorbehaltene Testverfahren dar. Weiterhin können auch Untersuchungen von Antikörpertitern durchgeführt werden, da die für das Probenhandling erforderliche Infrastruktur vorhanden ist.

Nach Aufbereitung der Probe, welche je nach Verfahren zwischen 5 min. und ca. einer Stunde betragen kann, erfolgt eine einschrittige quantitative RT-PCR-Reaktion, welche je nach verwendeter Chemie zwischen einer knappen halben Stunde und maximal einer Stunde dauert. Klar positive Befunde können hingegen häufig bereits nach 15 Minuten identifiziert werden (abhängig von der Viruslast).

Kein Zeitverlust durch Transport von Proben

Aufgrund der Mobilität kann die Probe direkt nach der Entnahme in die Analytik gehen. Dieser Vorteil ist hinsichtlich des tendenziell instabilen Erbguts des Virus von zentraler Bedeutung - und ermöglicht im Ermessen des Untersuchers zudem den Einsatz noch schnellerer RNA-Extraktionsverfahren, da auf lange Transportwege und präanalytische Wartezeiten verzichtet werden kann.

Erhebliche Kosteneinsparungen gegenüber herkömmlichen Laboratorien

Die molekularbiologische Analytik muss - und sollte in Krisenzeiten auch nicht teuer sein! Kommt bspw. ein von uns empfohlenes, von der WHO, dem US-amerikanischem CDC oder auch das an der Charité ursprünglich entwickelte Protokoll zum Einsatz, so können die Materialkosten für eine Screeninguntersuchung auf deutlich unter 5 Euro pro Testung reduziert werden. Bei einem Probenaufkommen von nur 500 Proben pro Tag können somit potentiell 500 * 95 EUR = 47.500 EUR täglich eingespart werden.

Sichere Probeentnahme

Das mobiolab verfügt über einen "Sample-Drawer", eine Schublade wie an Bankschaltern oder Nachtschaltern an Tankstellen verwendet. Hierüber erfolgt der sichere, aerosolgeschützte Austausch von Proben. Die Zuordnung von Probe zu Spender erfolgt hierbei über das eigene mobiolab Lab-Management System, welches mittels zu scannendem QR-Code am Schalter optionale anamnestische Daten abfragt sowie die Probengefäße (wahlweise auch über QR-Code getagged) mit dem Spender digital zusammenführt. Abgegebene Proben werden im Workflow des Mobio-Lab intern für die Präanalytik und die PCR-Analytik eingeblendet und stehen zur korrekten Bestückung der Geräte digital bereit.

Mehr als 7000 Proben/Tag je mobiolab möglich

Die fluoreszenzbasierte qRT-PCR erlaubt eine Quantifizierung der RNA-Menge und gilt als Goldstandard unter den Testverfahren. Nach kurzer Probenvorbereitung liefert sie innerhalb einer Stunde das Ergebnis. Damit bietet die eine einzelne mobiolab Laboreinheit je nach Ausstattungsvariante und Testverfahren die Kapazität zwischen ca. 1.500 und ca. 7.000 Proben pro Tag zu analysieren.